The Silesian Apollo

Lecturers

 
Portrait_BrittaSchwarz.jpg

Singing

 

Prof. Britta Schwarz

Alto

University of Music and Performing Arts, Dresden

The mezzo-soprano Britta Schwarz brings out her extensive repertoire in numerous concerts with renowned orchestras, including the Berlin Philharmonic, the Staatskapelle Dresden, the Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam, the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, the Academy of St. Martin in the Fields and the Cappella Andrea Barca . She works with conductors such as Philippe Herreweghe, Kent Nagano, Jörg-Peter Weigle, Bruno Weil, Marek Janowski, Peter Schreier and Gustavo Dudamel.

The extremely inspiring collaboration with Sir András Schiff should be emphasized.

Britta Schwarz devotes herself to chamber music with great fondness and particular attention, with “multi-string” programs being created primarily with the Weimar pianist Daniel Heide and the Berlin harpist Maria Graf.

The rich spectrum of the concert repertoire is documented in a diverse discography.

A new solo CD with chorales from Georg Christian Schemelli's collection was released in spring 2017 on the Querstand label. The wonderful harpists Maria Graf and Margret Köll as well as the Slovenian gambist Domen Marincic are their musical partners.

In addition to other delightful CD recordings with works by JS Bach, a recording of Franz Schubert's “Winterreise” was made in 2018 with the renowned pianist and harpsichordist Christine Schornsheim.

Britta Schwarz has given concerts in almost every country in Europe, including Israel and Japan.

She works with important baroque ensembles such as the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra, Musica Antiqua Cologne, the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin and the Rias Chamber Choir. This led to very stimulating musical encounters with Reinhard Göbel, Pierre Cao, Gustav Leonhardt, Hans-Christoph Rademann, Ludger Remy and Michael Schönheit, among others.

Britta Schwarz is a guest at many festivals, such as the Lucerne Festival, the Menuhin Festival Gstaad, the Leipzig Bach Festival, the MDR Music Summer, the Weilburg Castle Festival, the Rheingau Music Festival and the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival.

Britta Schwarz has been teaching at the “Carl Maria von Weber” University of Music in Dresden for a number of years, where she leads the oratorio interpretation course within the concert class, and in summer 2015 she was appointed honorary professor at the “Hanns Eisler” University of Music in Berlin .

Invitations to master classes have taken her to Japan, Iceland and Norway, among others.

In August 2020 Britta Schwarz will again lead a master class as part of the “Vielklang” festival in Tübingen.

 
 

Historical performance practice

Enrique Gómez-Cabrero Fernández

Baroque violin, conductor

Enrique was born in Spain. After studying violin at Francisco Comesaña Madrid in 2005, his interest in historical performance led him to study baroque violin at the Koninklijk Conservatory in The Hague with Ryo Terakado, where he graduated in 2010.

 

He studied and received master classes from some of the early music luminaries such as Enrico Gatti, Hiro Kurosaki, François Fernandez, Elisabeth Walfisch, Mira Glodeanu, Ton Koopman, etc.

 

He played with groups such as La Ritirata, Banchetto Musicale, Baroque Orchestra of the Netherlands and is concertmaster and soloist of Contrasto Armónico, with whom he has recorded more than 10 CDs. He also played as concertmaster with the Concerto Barocco and Damascus Baroque soloists and is a member of the soloists of the Capella Enrico Stuart in Rome. He has played in some of the best concert halls, festivals, radios and televisions in Europe, America and the Middle East.

He teaches regularly at several summer courses in the Czech Republic, Poland and

Canada and was visiting teacher at the Damascus Conservatory.

He is the founder and artistic director of the baroque ensemble "La Villanesca" and conductor of the "Lausitzer Baroque ensemble". In 2019 he made his debut as an opera conductor in Poland and Germany, where he gave the first performance in modern times of the pastoral melodrama "Giove in Argo" by Antonio Lotti.

 

In his spare time he is also a composer.

 

Accompaniment on the lute

 

Michele Cinquina

Lute

Michele Cinquina studied classical guitar with prof. Marco Salcito and prof. Andrea Dieci, obtaining his specialist master’s degree with the latter at the Conservatory of Pescara. He graduated with magna cum laude in Music Management at the University of Macerata, where he studied with Prof. Vincenzo Caporaletti, writing his dissertation on “Creative-extemporaneous practices in the theorbo repertoire”. His great love for ancient music and historical research led him to study the lute and the theorbo under the careful care of prof. Franco Pavan, obtaining his specialist master’s degree with him at the State Conservatory "E. F. Dall'Abaco" of Verona and following specialization courses with prof. Jacob Lindberg. With lute, theorbo and baroque guitar, as accompanist and continuist he performed concerts with numerous singers, chorales, chamber groups and orchestras including: ScarlattiLab, Wroclaw Baroque Orchestra and Wroclaw Baroque Ensemble, Ars Cantus, Clockbeats Baroque Orchestra, l'Accademia degli Invaghiti di Mantova, Oficina Musicum, l'Accademia degli Orfei, Cantimbanco. He plays in duo with the Polish flautist Katarzyna Czubek, with whom he has performed in important music festivals such as "Bachowski festiwal" in Swidnica, "Cappella Angelica" in Gdansk and “Maggio Musicale italiano” organized by Italian Cultural Institute in Kracow. He is also the founder-director of the ensemble Ghirlanda Sacra devote to the research and performance of Renaissance and Baroque Sacred repertoire and he is President and Artistic Director of the Cultural Association La Cartella Musicale. He has published for the Centro Studi Antoniani of Padova where he is also an editor for the Corpus Music Franciscanum. He recorded for Concerto Classics label, CDAccord and the Cultural Institute Wrocławscy kameralisc. On 21 February 2019 he published his first solo recording project about the tablature for lute of the vocal works of Josquin Desprez for the Concerto Classics label of Milan in collaboration with Skira publisher. He teaches lute and theorbo at Akademia Muzyczna Karol Lipinski in Wroclaw, Poland.

 

Translation of the poetry into the Polish language

 

Dr. Jolanta Szafarz

Germanist

Dr. Jolanta Szafarz, former research assistant at the Institute for German Studies - University of Wrocław.

Research focus: literature and culture of the Silesian Baroque, literature around the turn of the century, German-Polish relations in literature.

Dr Jolanta Szafarz, były pracownik naukowy Instytutu Filologii Germańskiej na Uniwersytecie Wrocławskim.

Zainteresowania naukowe: literatura i culture śląskiego baroku, literatura przełomu wieku, polsko niemieckie stosunki w literaturze.

 

Graphic design of the brochure

 

Krzysztof Knitter

Graphic artist

Krzysztof Knitter was born on February 20, 1981 in Bydgoszcz. Computer graphic and publishing designer with many years of experience. Always more of a practitioner than a theorist. A lover of creative and creative work. The painter and graphic artist also worked as a photographer and photo journalist. He has lived in Görlitz for two years.

Der schlesische Apollo

Dozenten | Mitarbeiter

 
Portrait_BrittaSchwarz.jpg

Gesang

 

Prof. Britta Schwarz

Alt

Hochschule für Musik und darstellende Kunst, Dresden

In zahlreichen Konzerten mit renommierten Orchestern u.a. den Berliner Philharmonikern, der Staatskapelle Dres- den, dem Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam, dem Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, der Academy of St. Martin in the Fields und der Cappella Andrea Barca bringt die Mezzosopranistin Britta Schwarz ihr umfangreiches Repertoire zur Geltung. Dabei arbeitet sie mit Dirigenten wie Philippe Herreweghe, Kent Nagano, Jörg-Peter Weigle, Bruno Weil, Marek Janowski, Peter Schreier und Gustavo Dudamel.

Hervorzuheben ist die äußerst inspirierende Zusammenarbeit mit Sir András Schiff.

Mit großer Vorliebe und besonderer Aufmerksamkeit widmet sich Britta Schwarz der Kammermusik, dabei entste- hen „vielsaitige“ Programme vor allem mit dem Weimarer Pianisten Daniel Heide und der Berliner Harfenistin Maria Graf.

In einer vielfältigen Diskographie dokumentiert sich das reiche Spektrum des Konzertrepertoires.

Eine neue Solo CD mit Chorälen aus der Sammlung von Georg Christian Schemelli erschien im Frühjahr 2017 beim Label Querstand. Die wunderbaren Harfenistinnen Maria Graf und Margret Köll, sowie der slowenische Gambist Domen Marincic sind dabei ihre musikalischen Partner.

 

Neben anderen reizvollen CD-Einspielungen mit Werken von J. S. Bach entstand im Jahr 2018 mit der renomierten Pianistin und Cembalistin Christine Schornsheim eine Aufnahme der „Winterreise“ von Franz Schubert.

Konzerte führten Britta Schwarz in fast alle Länder Europas und u.a. nach Israel und Japan.

Sie arbeitet mit bedeutenden Barock-Ensembles wie z.B. dem Freiburger Barockorchester, mit Musica Antiqua Köln, der Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin und dem Rias Kammerchor zusammen . Dies führte zu sehr anregenden musikalischen Begegnungen mit u.a. Reinhard Göbel, Pierre Cao, Gustav Leonhardt, Hans-Christoph Rademann, Ludger Remy und Michael Schönheit.

Britta Schwarz ist bei vielen Festivals zu Gast, so beim Lucerne Festival, beim Menuhin Festival Gstaad, dem Bach- fest Leipzig, dem MDR Musiksommer, den Schlossfestspielen Weilburg, dem Rheingau Musik Festival und dem Schleswig- Holstein Musikfestival.

 

Seit einigen Jahren lehrt Britta Schwarz an der Hochschule für Musik “Carl Maria von Weber” in Dresden, wo sie innerhalb der Konzertklasse den Interpretationskurs für Oratorium leitet, außerdem wurde sie im Sommer 2015 an der Hochschule für Musik “Hanns Eisler” Berlin zur Honorarprofessorin ernannt.

Einladungen zu Meiserkursen führten sie u.a. nach Japan, Island und Norwegen.

Im August 2020 wird Britta Schwarz im Rahmen des Festivals „Vielklang” in Tübingen wiederum eine Meisterklasse leiten.

 
 

Historische Aufführungspraxis

 

Enrique Gómez-Cabrero Fernández

Barockvioline, Dirigent

Enrique wurde in Spanien geboren. Nach seinem Geigenstudium am Francisco Comesaña Madrid im Jahr 2005 veranlasst ihn sein Interesse an historischen Aufführungen, Barockvioline im Koninklijk-Konservatorium in Den Haag bei Ryo Terakado zu studieren, wo er 2010 seinen Abschluss machte.

 

Er studierte und erhielt Meisterkurse bei einigen der Koryphäen für Alte Musik wie Enrico Gatti, Hiro Kurosaki, François Fernandez, Elisabeth Walfisch, Mira Glodeanu, Ton Koopman usw.

 

Er spielte mit Gruppen wie La Ritirata, Banchetto Musicale, Barockorchester der Niederlande und ist Konzertmeister und Solist von Contrasto Armónico, mit dem er mehr als 10 CDs aufgenommen hat. Er spielte auch als Konzertmeister mit dem Concerto Barocco und Damaskus Barock Solisten und ist Mitglied der Solisten der Capella Enrico Stuart in Rom. Er hat in einigen der besten Konzertsäle, Festivals, Radios und Fernseher in Europa, Amerika und im Nahen Osten gespielt.

Er unterrichtet regelmäßig an mehreren Sommerkursen in der Tschechischen Republik, Polen und

Kanada und war Gastlehrer am Damaskus-Konservatorium.

Er ist Gründer und künstlerischer Leiter des Barockensembles "La Villanesca" und Dirigent des "Lausitzer Barockensembles". 2019 gab er sein Debüt als Operndirigent in Polen und Deutschland, wo er die Erstaufführung in modernen Zeiten des Melodrama pastorale "Giove in Argo" von Antonio Lotti aufführte.

 

In seiner Freizeit ist er auch Komponist.

 

Begleitung auf der Laute

 

Michele Cinquina

Laute

Michele Cinquina studierte klassische Gitarre bei prof. Marco Salcito und prof. Andrea Dieci und erhielt seinen Master-Abschluss bei letzterem am Konservatorium von Pescara. Er schloss ein Studium im Musikmanagement an der Universität von Macerata mit "magna cum laude" ab, wo er bei Prof. Vincenzo Caporaletti studierte und seine Dissertation über „Kreativ-unzeitgemäße Praktiken im Theorbe-Repertoire“ verfasste. Seine große Liebe zur "alten Musik" und zur historischen Forschung veranlasste ihn, die Laute und den Theorbe unter der sorgfältigen Betreuung von Prof. Dr. Franco Pavan zu studieren, der mit ihm seinen Master-Abschluss am Staatlichen Konservatorium "E. F. Dall'Abaco" von Verona gemacht hat und Spezialisierungskurse mit prof. Jacob Lindberg. Mit Laute, Theorbe und Barockgitarre gab er als Begleiter und Kontinuist Konzerte mit zahlreichen Sängern, Chören, Kammergruppen und Orchestern, darunter: ScarlattiLab, Wroclaw Baroque Orchestra und Wroclaw Baroque Ensemble, Ars Cantus, Clockbeats Baroque Orchestra, l'Accademia degli Invaghiti di Mantua, Oficina Musicum, l'Accademia degli Orfei, Cantimbanco. Er spielt im Duo mit der polnischen Flötistin Katarzyna Czubek, mit der er bei wichtigen Musikfestivals wie "Bachowski festiwal" in Swidnica, "Cappella Angelica" in Danzig und "Maggio Musicale italiano" des Italienischen Kulturinstituts in Krakau aufgetreten ist. Er ist außerdem Gründer und Direktor des Ensembles Ghirlanda Sacra, das sich der Erforschung und Aufführung des Repertoires der Renaissance und des Barock widmet. Er ist Präsident und künstlerischer Leiter des Kulturvereins La Cartella Musicale. Er hat für das Centro Studi Antoniani in Padua veröffentlicht, wo er auch als Herausgeber für das Corpus Music Franciscanum arbeitet. Er nahm für das Label Concerto Classics, CDAccord und das Kulturinstitut Wrocławscy kameralisci auf. Am 21. Februar 2019 veröffentlichte er in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Skira-Verlag sein erstes Solo-Aufnahmeprojekt über die Lauten-Tabulatur der Vokalwerke von Josquin Desprez für das Mailänder Label Concerto Classics. Er unterrichtet Laute und Theorbe an der Akademia Muzyczna Karol Lipinski in Breslau, Polen.

 

Übersetzung der Dichtung in die polnische Sprache

 

Dr. Jolanta Szafarz

Germanistin

Dr. Jolanta Szafarz, ehemalige wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin des Instituts für Germanistik - Universität Wrocław.

Forschungsschwerpunkte: Literatur und Kultur des schlesischen Barock, Literatur um die Jahrhundertwende, deutsch-polnische Beziehungen in der Literatur.

 

 

Dr Jolanta Szafarz, były pracownik naukowy Instytutu Filologii Germańskiej na Uniwersytecie Wrocławskim.

 

Zainteresowania naukowe: literatura i kultura śląskiego baroku, literatura przełomu wieku, polsko niemieckie stosunki w literaturze .

 

Grafische Gestaltung der Broschüre

 

Krzysztof Knitter

Grafiker

Krzysztof Knitter geboren am 20. Februar 1981 in Bydgoszcz. Computergrafiker und Verlagsdesigner mit langjähriger Erfahrung. Immer eher ein Praktiker als ein Theoretiker. Ein Liebhaber kreativer und kreativer Arbeit. Der Maler und Grafiker arbeitete auch als Fotograf und Fotojournalist. Er lebt seit zwei Jahren in Görlitz.