The artists

Songs and piano music of

Otto Klemperer

First performance in modern times, planned for the year 2021-2022 as a project of
"Academia for Music and Theater in Silesia" in the OP ENHEIM Foundation in Wroclaw

 

 

 

About the project

Otto Klemperer is one of the greatest conductors of the 20th century. His life is closely connected to Silesia, however, as he was born in Breslau and carried out his first studies at the Stern Conservatory in Berlin, the famous conservatory that Julius Stern from Wroclaw founded in Berlin. We know a lot about his activity as a conductor, but little about his compositional work. Lotte Klemperer's estate is in the Central Library of Zürich. In between there are many songs and some piano pieces. The association would like to try to perform and record these songs in collaboration with the pianist Katarzyna Wasiak and the soprano Ania Vegry. The two artists dedicate a large part of their artistic activity to the rejected, forgotten music of the Jewish artists of the 20th century.

 

From www.kuenste-im-exil.de:

Otto Klemperer (May 14, 1885 in Breslau, Germany, today Poland - July 6, 1973 in Zurich, Switzerland) was considered a modern conductor in the Weimar Republic: he was committed to works by Arnold Schönberg and Kurt Weill , among others. His numerous own compositions are largely unknown.

After emigrating from Germany, Otto Klemperer initially appeared as a guest conductor in the music metropolises of Europe. From 1933 to 1939 he was also chief conductor of the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra. His wife still lived in Vienna with their two children. After the murder of the Austrian Chancellor Dollfuss in July 1934, Klemperer decided to turn his back on Europe entirely.

From the summer of 1935 he lived with his family near Los Angeles. Here he met Schönberg again, but the relationship between the two musicians was sometimes tense, because Schönberg had too high expectations of Klemperer that he could perform his works as head of the orchestra in Los Angeles.

In 1939 the conductor fell seriously ill with a brain tumor and withdrew from the concert stage in the following years. From 1946 he went on tour again - due to his illness he had lost his post with the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra. Klemperer had been an American citizen since 1940, but since he directed concerts and opera productions at the Budapest Opera House from 1947 onwards, the US authorities assumed that he was sympathetic to Hungarian communism and made it difficult for him to leave for guest performances. In 1954, Klemperer decided not to return to the States and settled in Zurich.

In 1959 Klemperer became chief conductor of the New Philharmonia Orchestra in London, from 1964 for life, and in 1970 he took on both German and Israeli citizenship. Despite severe health and psychological restrictions, Klemperer conducted until 1971.

 

 

 

Project phases

The following songs and piano pieces have already been digitized and rehearsed. The works belong to Lotte Klemperer's estate.

 

"Adagio" für Klavier (1910)

"Allein" (Hermann Hesse) Lied,1913

"Aus dem Dunkel" (Anny v.Mendelssohn) Lied, 1908

"Begegnung" (Heinrich Heine) Lied, 1901

"Berceuse" für Klavier (1905)

"Gebet" für Stimme und Klavier

"Ich will mich im grünen Wald ergeht" (Heinrich Heine) Lied

"Psalm 23" für Sopran und Klavier (1951)

"Wiegenlied" für Stimme und Klavier

 

Further works are still being digitized and a selection

prepared for an evening and a sound recording.

Sponsors are wanted. Estimated costs

of the project: around € 5,000

Katarzyna wasiak

Katarzyna Wasiak comes from a Polish family of musicians and began her musical training in Wroclaw at the age of seven. In 2002, at the age of seventeen, she began her studies at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna (Prof. Oleg Maisenberg, Prof. Wolfgang Watzinger). In 2006 she continued her studies at the University of the Arts in Berlin with Prof. Jacques Rouvier and in 2009 she finished her artistic studies

Diploma. She then completed her training with an artistic master’s degree at the Hans Eisler University of Music in Berlin with Prof. Fabio Bidini. Katarzyna Wasiak has won numerous international piano competitions (including in Dallas, Vanves and Villa de Capdepera) and completed additional studies as a cultural manager. She was a scholarship holder of the Polish Culture and Prime Ministries and the Chopin Society. In addition, she won scholarships from the Crescendum Est-Polonia Foundation for several years in a row, as well as the Viadrina scholarship from the Rotary Club Germany. Wasiak participates in recordings for Polish, German and Austrian radio as well as for the record label DUX, Anagram, RecArt and eda records.

It is important to her to contribute to the reappraisal of historical backgrounds through consciously themed projects, as in the case of the Polish-Jewish cultural heritage of the 20th century. These aspects of her artistic work and activity as a cultural manager led - together with three other co-founders - to the initiation of the LIMBO KOLLEKTIV and to a cooperation with the Berlin Friends' Association for the rediscovery of Nazi persecuted composers musica reanimata.

She gives guest performances at renowned festivals such as the Carinthian Summer Music Festival, Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, Arsonore Music Festival and plays with renowned orchestras such as the W arschau Radio Orchestra, the Estonian National Symphony Orchestra, the National Philharmonic of Ukraine and with well-known artists such as Michail Jurowski , Nikolai Diadiura, Jerzy Swoboda, Jan Krenz and Benjamin Schmid, Sayako Kusaka, Thomas Selditz, Felix Schwartz, Tomasz Tomaszewski, Agata Szymczewska, Clemens Hagen, Andreas Greger. www.katarzyna-wasiak.de

Ania Vegry

Ania Vegry, born in London as the daughter of a Polish couple of musicians, studied in Hanover with Christiane Iven and Charlotte Lehmann and in Madrid with Teresa Berganza. During her studies she became a permanent member of the ensemble of the Hanover State Opera, where she worked on numerous specialist roles. For her Susanna in Le nozze di Figaro she received a nomination for young singer of the year in the magazine Opernwelt. Ania Vegry sang and embodied central roles in the repertoire from baroque opera to music theater of the 20th and 21st centuries.

Guest engagements have taken her to the Deutsche Oper and the Komische Oper in Berlin, the Hamburg State Opera, the Deutsche Oper am Rhein, the Theater Bremen, the Nationaltheater Mannheim, the Opéra Garnier in Paris, the Alte Oper Frankfurt, the Konzerthaus Berlin, the Berliner Philharmonie and the Philharmonie am Gasteig in Munich. As a sought-after concert singer, she performs with conductors such as Alexander Shelley, Jonathan Darlington, Eivind Gullberg Jensen, Simon Halsey, Christopher Hogwood, Ira Levin, Enrique Mazzola, Gregor Bühl, Marc Albrecht, Joana Mallwitz, Ivan Repusic and Helmuth Rilling. She regularly gives recitals and gives concerts with renowned European orchestras and specialized ensembles for old and new music. Her chamber music partners include internationally renowned musicians such as Tabea Zimmermann, Andreas Ottensamer, Albrecht Mayer, Sharon Kam, Markus Becker, Rudolf Buchbinder, Maxim Vengerov, Andrej Bielow, Nicholas Rimmer and Jan-Philip Schulze. She is a regular guest at international festivals.

Ania Vegry has repeatedly recorded opera arias and song cycles for broadcasters (NDR, MDR, SWR, BR). She took the Hanoverian production of Gassmann's L ́Opera Seria as an opportunity to sift through his oeuvre and to have previously unpublished concert and opera arias published and to record with the NDR Radiophilharmonie under the direction of David Stern for the CPO label. www.aniavegry.com

Ars-Augusta eV

Augustastrasse 6

Goerlitz 02826

Germany

Tel. +49 3581 8778460

+48 502 991789

arsaugusta@gmail.com

Write us a message

© 2020 Ars-Augusta eV

Die Künstlerinnen

Die Lieder und Klaviermusik von

Otto Klemperer

Erstaufführung in modernen Zeit, geplant für das Jahr 2021-2022 als Projekt der
"Academia für Musik und Theater in Schlesien" in der Stiftung OP ENHEIM in Wroclaw

Über das Projekt

Otto Klemperer gehört zu den grössten Dirigenten des 20.Jahrhunderts. Sein Leben ist mit Schlesien eng verbunden, da er in Breslau geboren wurde und seine ersten Studien im Stern´schen Konservatorium in Berlin absolviert hat, das berühmte Konservatorium, das der Breslauer Julius Stern in Berlin gegründet hat. Wir wissen viel über seine Tätigkeit als Dirigent aber wenig über sein kompositorisches Werk. In der Zentralbibliothek Zürich befindet sich der Nachlass von Lotte Klemperer. Dazwischen findet man viele Lieder und einige Klavierstücke. Diese Lieder möchte der Verein in Zusammenarbeit mit der Pianistin Katarzyna Wasiak und der Sopranistin Ania Vegry nach Möglichkeit aufführen und Tonaufnahmen davon anfertigen. Die beiden Künstlerinnen widmen einen großen Teil ihrer künstlerischen Tätigkeit der ehemals verfemten, vergessenen Musik der jüdischen Künstler des 20.Jh Jahrhunderts.

Aus www.kuenste-im-exil.de:

Otto Klemperer (14. Mai 1885 in Breslau, Deutschland, heute Polen - 6. Juli 1973 in Zürich, Schweiz) galt in der Weimarer Republik als Dirigent der Moderne: Er engagierte sich unter anderem für Werke von Arnold Schönberg und Kurt Weill. Seine zahlreichen eigenen Kompositionen sind weitgehend unbekannt.

Nach der Emigration aus Deutschland trat Otto Klemperer zunächst als Gastdirigent in den Musikmetropolen Europas auf. Von 1933 bis 1939 war er außerdem Chefdirigent des Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra. Seine Frau lebte mit den beiden gemeinsamen Kindern noch in Wien. Nach der Ermordung des österreichischen Bundeskanzlers Dollfuß im Juli 1934 entschloss sich Klemperer, Europa ganz den Rücken zu kehren.

Ab Sommer 1935 lebte er gemeinsam mit seiner Familie in der Nähe von Los Angeles. Hier traf er Schönberg wieder, doch die Beziehung zwischen den beiden Musikern war teilweise gespannt, denn Schönberg hegte zu große Erwartungen an Klemperer, dass dieser als Chef des Orchesters in Los Angeles Werke von ihm aufführen würde

1939 erkrankte der Dirigent schwer an einem Hirntumor und zog sich in den folgenden Jahren vom Konzertpodium zurück. Ab 1946 ging er wieder auf Tournee – bedingt durch seine Erkrankung hatte er seinen Posten beim Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra verloren. Seit 1940 war Klemperer amerikanischer Staatsbürger, da er jedoch ab 1947 am Budapester Opernhaus Konzerte und Operneinstudierungen leitete, unterstellten ihm die US-amerikanischen Behörden Sympathien mit dem ungarischen Kommunismus und erschwerten ihm die Ausreise zu Gastspielen. 1954 beschloss Klemperer, nicht mehr in die Staaten zurückzukehren und ließ sich in Zürich nieder.

1959 wurde Klemperer Chefdirigent des New Philharmonia Orchestra in London, ab 1964 auf Lebenszeit und nahm 1970 neben der deutschen auch die israelische Staatsbürgerschaft an. Trotz schwerer gesundheitlicher und psychischer Einschränkungen dirigierte Klemperer bis 1971.

Projektphasen

Es wurden schon folgende Lieder und Klavierstücke digitalisiert und einstudiert. Die Werke gehören zum Nachlass von Lotte Klemperer.

"Adagio" für Klavier (1910)

"Allein" (Hermann Hesse) Lied,1913

"Aus dem Dunkel" (Anny v.Mendelssohn) Lied, 1908

"Begegnung" (Heinrich Heine) Lied, 1901

"Berceuse" für Klavier (1905)

"Gebet" für Stimme und Klavier

"Ich will mich im grünen Wald ergeht" (Heinrich Heine) Lied

"Psalm 23" für Sopran und Klavier (1951)

"Wiegenlied" für Stimme und Klavier

Weitere Werke werden noch digitalisiert und eine Auswahl

für einenAbend und eine Tonaufnahme vorbereitet.

Sponsoren werden gesucht. Geschätzte Kosten

des Projektes: um die 5.000 €

Katarzyna wasiak

1529251801.jpg

Katarzyna Wasiak stammt aus einer polnischen Musikerfamilie und begann im Alter von sieben Jahren ihre musikalische Ausbildung in Breslau. 2002 trat sie mit siebzehn Jahren ihr Studium an der Universität für Musik und Darstellende Kunst in Wien an (Prof. Oleg Maisenberg, Prof. Wolfgang Watzinger). 2006 setzte sie ihr Studium an der Universität der Künste in Berlin bei Prof. Jacques Rouvier fort und legte 2009 ihr künstlerisches Diplom ab. Anschließend vervollständigte sie ihre Ausbildung mit einem künstlerischen Masterstudium an der Hochschule für Musik Hans Eisler Berlin bei Prof. Fabio Bidini. Katarzyna Wasiak ist Preisträgerin zahlreicher internationaler Klavierwettbewerbe (u.a. in Dallas, Vanves und Villa de Capdepera) und absolvierte ein Zusatzstudium als Kulturmanagerin. Sie war Stipendiatin der polnischen Kultur- und Premierministerien und der Chopin Gesellschaft. Zudem gewann sie mehrere Jahre in Folge Stipendien der Crescendum Est-Polonia Stiftung, sowie das Viadrina Stipendium des Rotary Clubs Deutschland. Wasiak beteiligt sich an Aufnahmen für den Polnischen, Deutschen sowie Österreichischen Rundfunk sowie für das Plattenlabel DUX, Anagram, RecArt und eda records.

Es ist ihr ein wichtiges Anliegen, durch bewusst thematisch orientierte Projekte zur Aufarbeitung historischer Hintergründe beizutragen wie im Fall des polnisch-jüdischen Kulturerbes des 20. Jahrhunderts. Diese Aspekte ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit und Aktivität als Kulturmanagerin haben – gemeinsam mit drei anderen Mitgründern – zur Initiierung des LIMBO KOLLEKTIVs geführt und zu einer Kooperation mit dem Berliner Förderverein zur Wiederentdeckung NS-verfolgter KomponistInnen musica reanimata.

Sie gastiert bei renommierten Festivals, wie dem Musikfestival Carinthischer Sommer, Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, Arsonore Music Festival und musiziert mit renommierten Orchestern wie dem Rundfunk Orchester W arschau, dem Estnischen Nationalen Symphonieorchester, der Nationalen Philharmonie der Ukraine und mit namhaften Künstlern wie Michail Jurowski, Nikolai Diadiura, Jerzy Swoboda, Jan Krenz sowie Benjamin Schmid, Sayako Kusaka, Thomas Selditz, Felix Schwartz, Tomasz Tomaszewski, Agata Szymczewska, Clemens Hagen, Andreas Greger. www.katarzyna-wasiak.de

Vegry-Ania-04[Thomas_Jauk].jpg

Ania Vegry

Ania Vegry, geboren in London als Tochter eines polnischen Musiker-Ehepaares, studierte in Hannover bei Christiane Iven und Charlotte Lehmann wie auch in Madrid bei Teresa Berganza. Bereits während ihres Studiums wurde sie festes Ensemblemitglied der Staatsoper Hannover, wo sie sich zahlreiche Fachpartien erarbeitete. Für ihre Susanna in Le nozze di Figaro erhielt sie in der Zeitschrift Opernwelt eine Nominierung zur Nachwuchssängerin des Jahres. Ania Vegry sang und verkörperte zentrale Rollen des Repertoires von der barocken Oper bis hin zum Musiktheater des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts.

Gastengagements führten sie u.a. an die Deutsche Oper und an die Komische Oper in Berlin, die Hamburgische Staatsoper, die Deutsche Oper am Rhein, das Theater Bremen, das Nationaltheater Mannheim, die Opéra Garnier in Paris, die Alte Oper Frankfurt, das Konzerthaus Berlin, die Berliner Philharmonie und die Philharmonie am Gasteig in München. Als gefragte Konzertsängerin musiziert sie u.a. mit Dirigenten wie Alexander Shelley, Jonathan Darlington, Eivind Gullberg Jensen, Simon Halsey, Christopher Hogwood, Ira Levin, Enrique Mazzola, Gregor Bühl, Marc Albrecht, Joana Mallwitz, Ivan Repusic und Helmuth Rilling. Sie gibt regelmäßig Liederabende und konzertiert mit namhaften europäischen Orchestern sowie spezialisierte Ensembles für Alte und Neue Musik. Zu ihren kammermusikalischen Partnern gehören international renommierte Musiker wie Tabea Zimmermann, Andreas Ottensamer, Albrecht Mayer, Sharon Kam, Markus Becker, Rudolf Buchbinder, Maxim Vengerov, Andrej Bielow, Nicholas Rimmer und Jan-Philip Schulze. Sie ist regelmäßig bei internationalen Festivals zu Gast.

Für Rundfunkanstalten (NDR, MDR, SWR, BR) hat Ania Vegry wiederholt Opernarien und Liederzyklen aufgenommen. Die Hannoveraner Produktion von Gassmanns L ́Opera Seria nahm sie zum Anlass, dessen Oeuvre zu sichten und bisher nicht verlegten Konzert- und Opernarien herausgeben zu lassen und mit der NDR Radiophilharmonie unter der Leitung von David Stern für das Label CPO aufzunehmen. www.aniavegry.com

Bildschirmfoto 2021-01-18 um 21.46.10.pn